Back

Amie Siegel

Visual artist

Amie Siegel is a visual artist. A way to consider her work—be it a film, video, photograph, installation or painting–-is to consider each piece as a case study. Siegel often focuses on the way things work, seeing through appearances and making visible layers of circulation, economic influxes, patterns of gaze and processes of constructing value. Her work is in public collections including The Museum of Modern Art, New York; Whitney Museum of American Art, New York; Tate Modern, London.

One way to approach Amie Siegel’s (1974, Chicago, Illinois, USA) work – be it a film, video, photograph, installation or painting – is to consider each piece as a case study. Siegel often focuses on the way things work, seeing through their appearances and taking in consideration layers of circulation, economical influxes, patterns of gaze and processes of constructing value. Such commonly ungraspable aspects of the world are made visible through a long research and investigation process that allows Siegel to discover and highlight threads and connections between apparently disconnected elements, and then through the artist’s deployment of materials and media that follow, record, inscribe and/or even mirror their movement. Montage and the remake are also constant resources in Siegel’s universe, not only when directly creating films or engaging cinematic tropes, but also as underlying relations between different pieces that together form constellations or genealogies (to cite the title of a 2016 work) at once subtle and extremely precise, introducing further entanglements and complexities to her broader narratives of contemporary society.

In Asterisms (2021), a video installation co-commissioned for the 34th Bienal by Fundação Bienal de São Paulo, Siegel explores geological and social displacement processes on a planetary scale, in this case focusing on the specific context of the United Arab Emirates. Within it, Siegel leads us through migrant labor camps that supply manual work for gold factories and oil recovery; through the surreal the specific context of the United Arab Emirates. Within it, Siegel leads us through migrant labor camps that supply manual work for gold factories and oil recovery; through the surreal landscape of a royal palace where Arabian horses are bred and trained for show; through the process of constructing artificial islands in Dubai; through an abandoned village almost completely submerged by the desert sand... Each of these segments unfolds in a different cinematic aspect ratio and is projected onto a shape that floats between being a wall and a sculpture. Derived from the superposition of the various projection formats, the shape resembles a stylized star, or asterism – an informal group of stars and the lines used to mentally connect them, whose form we can identify in the night sky, if we look hard enough.

  • Videos with
  • Amie Siegel1

Search

Exhibitions Ticketing Practical infos Replay of events Guided tours About LUMA

Basket

Sign In

Already have a token ?
Click here to connect with it.

Please enter yout email adress.

Retour

Amie Siegel

Artiste et vidéaste

Amie Siegel est artiste et vidéaste. Une façon de considérer son travail - qu’il s’agisse d’un film, d’une vidéo, d’une photographie, d’une installation ou d’une peinture - est de considérer chaque œuvre comme une étude de cas. Siegel se concentre souvent sur le processus de fonctionnement de ses objets d’études, en regardant à travers leurs apparences et en prenant en considération les couches de circulation, les flux économiques, les regards et les processus de construction de la valeur. Ses œuvres font partie de collections publiques, notamment le Museum of Modern Art (MoMA, New York), le Whitney Museum of American Art (New York), et la Tate Modern (Londres).

L’une des façons d’aborder le travail d’Amie Siegel (1974, Chicago, Illinois, États-Unis) – film, vidéo, photographie, installation ou peinture – est de considérer chaque œuvre comme une étude de cas. Siegel s’attache au train où vont les choses en voyant clair dans le jeu de leurs apparences et en prenant en compte les couches de circulation, les influx économiques, les formes de regard et les procédés de construction de la valeur. D’ordinaire insaisissables, ces aspects du monde se donnent ici à voir grâce à un long processus de recherche et d’enquête permettant à Siegel de découvrir et de mettre en lumière des fils et des liens entre des éléments apparemment déconnectés, puis à travers le déploiement par l’artiste de matériaux et de médias qui suivent, enregistrent, inscrivent et/ou reflètent leur mouvement. Le montage et le remake sont des ressources constantes dans l’univers de Siegel, non seulement lors de la création directe de films ou de l’utilisation de tropes cinématographiques, mais aussi en tant que relations sous-jacentes entre différentes pièces qui forment des constellations ou des généalogies (pour reprendre le titre d’une œuvre de 2016) à la fois subtiles et extrêmement précises ajoutant des enchevêtrements et des complexités supplémentaires à la densité de ses récits sur la société contemporaine.

Dans Astérismes (2021), installation vidéo faisant l’objet d’une co-commande pour la 34e Bienal par la Fundação Bienal de São Paulo, Siegel explore les processus de déplacement géologiques et sociaux à l’échelle planétaire en abordant le contexte spécifique des Émirats arabes unis. Siegel nous y fait voir les camps de travailleurs migrants qui fournissent la main d’œuvre aux usines d’or et de récupération du pétrole ; le paysage surréaliste d’un palais royal où l’on élève et dresse des pur-sang arabes pour le spectacle ; le projet de construction d’îles artificielles à Dubaï ; un village abandonné et quasiment submergé par le sable du désert… Chacun de ces segments se présente dans un format cinématographique singulier et est projeté sur une forme qui oscille entre mur et sculpture. Dérivée de la superposition de ces différents formats de projection, la forme ressemble à une étoile stylisée, un astérisme – un groupe informel d’étoiles, et les lignes utilisées pour les relier mentalement, dont on peut identifier la forme la nuit dans le ciel si l’on y prête assez attention.

  • Vidéos avec
  • Amie Siegel1

Rechercher

Expositions Billetterie Infos pratiques Replay des événements Visites commentées À propos de LUMA

Panier

s’identifier

Vous avez déjà un code d'accès ?
Cliquez-ici pour l'utiliser

Veuillez indiquer votre adresse e-mail ci-dessous.