In Conversation with Jakob Kudsk Steensen

Conversation with Jakob Kudsk Steensen

Director(s)  Victor & Simon
Participant(s)  Hans Ulrich Obrist
Participant(s)  Vassilis Oikonomopoulos
Participant(s)  Jakob Kudsk Steensen
Year  2020

July 2020,
Arles (FR)

In conversation with:
Hans Ulrich Obrist, Artistic Director, Serpentine Galleries, Core Group, LUMA Arles
Vassilis Oikonomopoulos, Senior Curator, LUMA Arles

Jakob Kudsk Steensen was invited to take part in the It’s Urgent! installation, presented in Arles during the summer of 2020. During this conversation, he discusses his experience at a local hypermarket in Arles and his desire to work on a different scale for the installations which he creates and to have a more poetic vision and a more intense relationship with the materials. He is interested in the way our emotions, the ecosystems and the different species are connected, both in time and space. 

In his work, Jakob Kudsk Steensen, Danish multimedia artist, brings past, present and future landscapes and ecosystems to life thanks to his micro and macro view of the environment, and through the lens of virtual reality, based on a long process of research in the field and with specialists in species conservation. He was artist resident at LUMA Arles from January to June 2020.

https://www.jakobsteensen.com/

Hans Ulrich Obrist
Artistic Director of the Serpentine Galleries, London, and co-founder of 89plus, Hans Ulrich Obrist was prior to this, the Curator of the Musée d’Art Moderne de la Ville de Paris. Since his first show World Soup (The Kitchen Show) in 1991, he has curated more than three hundred exhibitions. He has lectured internationally at academic and art institutions, and is a contributing editor to the magazines Artforum, AnOther Magazine, 032C, a regular contributor to Mousse, Kaleidoscope, Kinfolk, Numero and Hero, he also writes columns for Das Magazin and Weltkunst. In 2011 he received the CCS Bard Award for Curatorial Excellence, in 2015 he was awarded the International Folkwang Prize for his commitment to the arts. In 2018, The Appraisers Association of America presented Hans Ulrich Obrist with an award for Excellence in the Arts. Ways of curating (Faber and Faber, Inc. New York, NY 2014). Lives of The Artists, Lives of The Architects (Penguin Design, 2015). The Age of Earthquakes with Douglas Coupland, Shumon Basar (Penguin, 2015). Conversations in Mexico with Patrick Charpenal, editor Karen Marta (Fundacion Alumnos47cosentino, 2016). Mondialité Or, the Archipelagos of Édouard Glissant with Asad Raza (Skira, 2017).

Vassilis Oikonomopoulos
Vassilis Oikonomopoulos is Senior Curator at LUMA Arles. His work focuses on the conceptualisation and implementation of the institution’s programme of exhibitions in close collaboration with its President Maja Hoffmann and the Core Group of Artistic Consultants (Tom Eccles, Liam Gillick, Hans Ulrich Obrist, Philippe Parreno and Beatrix Ruf). Prior to joining Luma, he worked in institutions internationally. He has been Assistant Curator, Collections International Art at Tate Modern where he worked with Tate’s Middle East and North Africa Acquisitions Committee. During his tenure at Tate, he co-curated a number of exhibitions and commissions and worked on Tate’s collection displays. He has also held curatorial positions at Atopos Contemporary Visual Culture (Athens) and the Office for Metropolitan Architecture (OMA/AMO, Rotterdam).

Search

Exhibitions Ticketing Practical infos

Basket

Sign In

Already have a token ?
Click here to connect with it.

Please enter yout email adress.

Conversation avec Jakob Kudsk Steensen

Vidéaste Victor & Simon
Casting Hans Ulrich Obrist
Casting Vassilis Oikonomopoulos
Casting Jakob Kudsk Steensen
lumalive.label.magnoliaepisode 3e0c8946-ec70-4055-bef8-40faccabfba7
Année 1590962400

Juillet 2020,
Arles (FR)

En conversation avec :
Hans Ulrich Obrist, directeur artistique des Serpentines Galleries, membre du Core Group de Luma Arles
Vassilis Oikonomopoulos, commissaire général, Luma Arles

Jakob Kudsk Steensen a été invité à participer à l’installation It’s Urgent! présentée à Arles durant l’été 2020. Lors de cette conversation, il questionne son expérience arlésienne de l’hyper local et sa volonté de changer d’échelle dans les installations qu’il élabore à partir d’une vision plus poétique et une relation plus intense à la matière. Il s'intéresse à la manière dont les émotions, les écosystèmes et les espèces sont connectés dans le temps et l’espace.

Dans son travail, Jakob Kudsk Steensen, artiste multimédia danois, fait revivre des paysages et des écosystèmes passés, présents et futurs grâce à sa vision micro et macro de l’environnement, et par le prisme de la réalité virtuelle, à partir d’un long processus de recherche sur le terrain et auprès de spécialistes des questions de la préservation des espèces. Il a été artiste résident à Luma Arles de janvier à juin 2020.

https://www.jakobsteensen.com/

 

Hans Ulrich Obrist
Directeur artistique des Serpentine Galleries (Londres) et co-fondateur de 89plus, Hans Ulrich Obrist a été également conservateur du Musée d'Art Moderne de la Ville de Paris. Depuis sa première exposition World Soup (The Kitchen Show) en 1991, il a organisé plus de trois cents expositions. Il a donné des conférences dans des institutions académiques et artistiques à travers le monde et a écrit également pour les magazines Artforum, AnOther Magazine, 032C. Il contribue régulièrement à Mousse, Kaléidoscope, Kinfolk, Numero et Hero de même que Das Magazin et Weltkunst. Il a reçu le CCS Bard Award for Curatorial Excellence en 2011, l'International Folkwang Prize en 2015 et le prix Excellence in the Arts décerné par The Appraisers Association of America en 2018. Parmi ses publications : Les voies du curating (Manuella Editions, 2015). Lives of The Artists, Lives of The Architects (Penguin Design, 2015) [Vies des Artistes, vies des architectes, non traduit]. The Age of Earthquakes, avec Douglas Coupland, Shumon Basar (Penguin, 2015) [L’ère des tremblements de terre, non traduit]. Conversations in Mexico avec Patrick Charpenal, sous la direction de Karen Marta (Fundacion Alumnos47cosentino, 2016) [Conversations à Mexico, non traduit]. Mondialité Or, the Archipelagos of Édouard Glissant, avec Asad Raza (Skira, 2017) [Mondialité ou les archipels d’Édouard Glissant, Hans Ulrich Obrist et Asad Raza, Fondation Boghossian, 2017].

Vassilis Oikonomopoulos
Vassilis Oikonomopoulos est commissaire général à Luma Arles. Son travail porte sur la conceptualisation et la mise en œuvre du programme d’expositions de l’institution en étroite collaboration avec sa présidente Maja Hoffmann et le Core Group de conseillers artistiques composé de Tom Eccles, Liam Gillick, Hans Ulrich Obrist, Philippe Parreno et Beatrix Ruf. Avant de rejoindre Luma Arles, il a travaillé dans des institutions internationales. Il a été conservateur adjoint (Collections Arts International) à la Tate Modern à Londres, où il a travaillé avec le comité des acquisitions de la Tate pour le Moyen-Orient et l’Afrique du Nord. Au cours de son mandat à la Tate, il a co-organisé plusieurs expositions et commandes, et a travaillé sur les présentations de la collection. Il a également occupé des postes de commissaire chez Atopos Contemporary Visual Culture (Athènes) et à l'Office for Metropolitan Architecture (OMA / AMO, Rotterdam).

Tags Associés

2020

Rechercher

Panier

s’identifier

Vous avez déjà un code d'accès ?
Cliquez-ici pour l'utiliser

Veuillez indiquer votre adresse e-mail ci-dessous.