About Atelier LUMA

Atelier LUMA is the research design lab of LUMA Arles. It has been based in the Parc des Ateliers in Arles since 2017, and is deeply connected to its geographic and cultural environment. The Arles bioregion is home to rich natural resources and many kinds of know-how, which we investigate, valorize and engage.

Discover more
To note

A more complete presentation of Atelier LUMA's research is in preparation and will be available online in the second half of 2023.

If you would like to contact Atelier LUMA, please send an email to the following address 
info@atelier-luma.org

For Press inquiries, please fill in this dedicated form.

For spontaneous applications, please click here.

“Atelier LUMA’s mission is to apply a multidisciplinary design approach to the environmental, economic, and social challenges of different territories.”

Maja Hoffmann

Atelier LUMA was founded in 2016. It brings together a team of designers, engineers, scientists, and experts from the fields of culture, craftsmanship, humanities, and social sciences and innovation, who explore the potential of non-extractivist, and often discredited, local materials, such as invasive plants, agricultural coproducts, algae, and industrial waste. 

Housed since 2023 in Le Magasin Électrique, Atelier LUMA operates as a collaborative platform, working with local actors and partners, including farmers, craftspeople, and manufacturers to create sustainable and local solutions. Over the years, Atelier LUMA has expanded its research scope and reach from the Arles bioregion to the international level by taking part in European projects and accompanying other institutions in their research.

A series of implementations of Atelier LUMA’s work can be seen in the Parc des Ateliers. 

For The Tower, Atelier LUMA developed wall cladding panels made of salt naturally crystallized in the salt flats. The sanitary facilities are adorned with bioplastic tiles charged with algae-based dyes and invasive and dye plants, the result of research into local production of bio-sourced and biodegradable plastics. Finally, the walls of the Drum Café are covered with a coating based on sunflower pith, a residual raw material from the sunflower oil industry. 

In The Tower, salt is used in the walls, both in crystallized wall panels and, in combination with concrete, in cladding with evocative black-and-white textures that spans ceilings and corridors.

Le Réfectoire furnishings are the result of Atelier LUMA’s collaboration with designer Martino Gamper and his studio, as well as many local craftspeople and manufacturers. From chairs to wall plaster, from lamps to bench upholstery, the teams have developed, prototyped, and produced a complete range of equipment that puts into practice the research carried out over several years on rice straw, Arles merino wool, invasive and dye plants.

In 2023, Atelier LUMA completed the renovation of Le Magasin Électrique, the building that centralizes its activities, at the end of a three-year pilot and experimental project. 

Conducted in collaboration with BC architects & studies, and Assemble, the renovation project was an opportunity to implement the Lot 8 project, a large-scale applied research for a bioregional architecture, guided by principles of locality of the resources used and sustainability of equipment.

Atelier LUMA is committed to sharing the knowledge gathered through its activities and with its collaborators, by co-producing and participating in exhibitions, workshops, talks and other public events. The team also regularly publishes specific works, such as the book Bioregional Design Practices and the publication Algae Review.

Discovery-tour
Design and innovation in the Arles-Camargue bioregion

    Atelier LUMA’s research and works that are in use in the Parc des Ateliers is presented in a guided tour (in French only).

    Booking


Atelier LUMA publications
 


Search

Exhibitions Ticketing Practical infos Replay of events Guided tours About LUMA

Basket

Sign In

Already have a token ?
Click here to connect with it.

Please enter yout email adress.

© Joana Luz

À propos d'Atelier LUMA

Atelier LUMA est le laboratoire de recherche en design de LUMA Arles. Installé dans le Parc des Ateliers d'Arles depuis 2017, il est profondément lié à son environnement géographique et culturel . Dans la biorégion arlésienne, les ressources naturelles sont riches et les savoir-faire multiples, l'équipe d'Atelier LUMA s'attache à les identifier, les valoriser et les implémenter.

 

 

Voir plus
À savoir

Une présentation plus complète des recherches menées par Atelier LUMA est en préparation et sera mise en ligne au cours de second semestre 2023.

Si vous souhaitez prendre contact avec Atelier LUMA, merci d'envoyer un email à l'adresse suivante : 
info@atelier-luma.org

Pour les demandes Presse, merci de remplir ce formulaire dédié.

Dans le cadre d'une candidature spontanée, merci de cliquer ici.

“Atelier LUMA a pour mission d’appliquer une approche de design pluridisciplinaire aux défis environnementaux, économiques et sociaux de différents territoires.”

Maja Hoffmann

Atelier LUMA a été fondé en 2016, il rassemble une équipe de designers, d'ingénieurs, de scientifiques et des experts du secteur culturel, de l’artisanat, des sciences humaines et sociales et de l’innovation, qui explorent le potentiel de matériaux locaux non-extractivistes et souvent déconsidérés, tels que les plantes invasives, les coproduits de l’agriculture, les algues et les déchets industriels.

Installé depuis 2023 dans Le Magasin Électrique, Atelier LUMA fonctionne comme une plateforme collaborative, œuvrant avec des acteurs et des partenaires locaux, notamment des agriculteurs, des artisans et des fabricants, pour créer des solutions durables et locales. Atelier LUMA a, au fil des années, accru le champ de sa recherche et son rayon d’action depuis la biorégion arlésienne à l’international en prenant part à des projets européens et en accompagnant d’autres institutions dans leurs recherches.

Une série d’implémentations des travaux d’Atelier LUMA sont visibles dans le Parc des Ateliers.

Pour La Tour, Atelier LUMA a développé des panneaux de revêtement muraux en sel naturellement cristallisés dans les salins. Les sanitaires sont ornés de carreaux de bioplastiques chargés de colorants à base d’algues et de plantes invasives et tinctoriales, résultat d’une recherche sur les productions locales de plastiques biosourcés et biodégradables. Enfin les murs du Drum Café sont tapissés d’un revêtement à base de moelle de tournesol, co-produit de l'agriculture du tournesol. 

Dans La Tour, le sel est utilisé pour les murs, à la fois dans des panneaux muraux cristallisés et, associé au béton, comme revêtement aux textures noires et blanches qui courent sur les plafonds et les couloirs. Ce travail de recherche sur le sel a été l’une des premières initiatives de l’Atelier LUMA.

L’aménagement du Réfectoire est le fruit de la collaboration d’Atelier LUMA avec le designer Martino Gamper et son studio et de nombreux artisans et manufactures locaux. Des chaises aux enduits muraux, des lampes au garnissage des banquettes, les équipes ont développé, prototypé et produit une gamme complète d’équipements qui mettent en œuvre les recherches menées depuis plusieurs années sur la paille de riz, la laine mérinos d’Arles, les plantes invasives et tinctoriales.

En 2023, Atelier LUMA achève le projet de rénovation du Magasin Électrique, le bâtiment qui centralise ses activités, à l'issue d’un chantier pilote et expérimental de 3 ans.

Conduit en collaboration avec BC architects & studies et Assemble, le chantier de rénovation a été l’occasion de mettre en œuvre le projet Lot 8, une recherche appliquée d’envergure pour une architecture biorégionale, guidée par des principes de localité des ressources employées et durabilité des équipements.

Atelier LUMA s'attache à transmettre les connaissances engrangées par son activité et avec ses collaborateurs, en co-produisant et en participant à des expositions, ateliers, conférences et autres événements publics. L'équipe de l'Atelier produit également régulièrement des publications spécifiques tels que le livre Pratiques Biorégionales de Design ou la publication Algae Review.

Parcours-découverte
Design et innovation dans la biorégion d'Arles - Camargue

    L’équipe médiation de LUMA Arles propose une visite commentée sur les recherches et les applications des travaux d’Atelier LUMA sur l’ensemble du Parc des Ateliers.

    Tous les jeudis à 15h00
    Tous les dimanches à 16h00

    Je réserve


Les publications Atelier LUMA
 


Rechercher

Expositions Billetterie Infos pratiques Replay des événements Visites commentées À propos de LUMA

Panier

s’identifier

Vous avez déjà un code d'accès ?
Cliquez-ici pour l'utiliser

Veuillez indiquer votre adresse e-mail ci-dessous.